[CR]re: raleigh track? bike on ebay

(Example: Framebuilders:Mario Confente)

From: "C. Andrews" <chasds@mindspring.com>
To: "Mark Bulgier" <mark@bulgier.net>
Date: Mon, 12 Sep 2005 08:57:23 -0700
cc: classicrendezvous@bikelist.org
Subject: [CR]re: raleigh track? bike on ebay

Mark wrote:

asked the seller how he knows it's Reynolds, and he let me in on his "shop secret": he can tell it's Reynolds by the sound when he pings it with his fingernail. Nothing more.

Damn he's good!


This seller may be good, but he's also consistently creative with the truth, whatever he conceives it to be.

Some time back he was trying fob off a "Colnago" that was so obviously a british frame painted and decorated to look like a Colnago that a child could have told the difference, but he absolutely refused to change a thing in the auction... I won't use the obvious word to describe that behavior, this being a litigious society, but in the case of the this seller, caveat- emptor is a good policy.

The pics of the bike seem detailed enough for those who know, to know what they're getting, but I'd otherwise steer well clear of this guy.

Charles Andrews SoCal

"What concerns me is not the way things are, but rather the way people think things are."

- Epictitus