[CR]re: 2 rene Herses on ebay?

From: "C. Andrews" <chasds@mindspring.com>
To: <classicrendezvous@bikelist.org>
Date: Sat, 19 Nov 2005 14:49:19 -0800
Subject: [CR]re: 2 rene Herses on ebay?

Joel wrote:

"actually looks like a hacked account - low feedback, but all positive, no bikes in previous sales - and now a rash of bikes "


It looks like a perfectly legit german seller has his account hijacked by someone in China, who is now running scam auctions under this formerly legit account name. Check the transaction history.

What cracks me up is that the scammer was smart enough to hack the account, but dumb enough to list his location as Beijing. Not real bright.

Classic content: that Porteur was nice, but note that no-one has bitten at 2K. Apropos of which, does anyone happen to know what happened to that old Rene Herse tandem that was on ebay? The black one with the cool parts and messed-up frame? I can't find the completed auction.

Charles Andrews SoCal

that's the puzzle of what has happened to the automobile world: feeling safe has become more important than actually being safe.

--Malcolm Gladwell