[CR]Re: eBay Masi scam

(Example: Racing:Wayne Stetina)

From: <EdVintage63@aol.com>
Date: Sat, 28 Jan 2006 19:02:23 EST
To: classicrendezvous@bikelist.org
Subject: [CR]Re: eBay Masi scam

> sssspeedster is for real no doubt I have bought and corresponded
> extensively with him. Totally trusworthy. The other seems a scam. Same
> pics etc.
> Edward Albert
> Chappaqua, NY
> Sssspedster listed that bike a few months ago and someone copped the photos and has been using that bike to perpetrate a scam ever since - over and over and over (as in more than a dozen times). It's really a shame, because some people might think Sssspedster's auction is a scam, after the bike has been part of one so many times. The thing to keep in mind, too, is that this particular scam appears to involve pirating of someone's eBay ID. In this case, the prior reliability of the seller is, sadly, not an indication of the reliability of the sale. Another thing is that the scam Masi comes up with a search of "Masi," but is actually listed in weird categories in some cases have nothing to do with bicycles; in this most recent case, it's listed under full suspension mountain bikes. For some reason, the seller must think he can avoid detection by eBay authorities if he does this. Bottom line is, Sssspeeder's sale is legit, and is a nice twin-plate repaint GC that was priced too high to sell the first time - interesting to find out where the reserve is now.

Ed Granger Lancaster, PA, USA Pretty sure that's not my Masi, but pretty sure mine is out there somewhere ...