[CR]Fwd: Rih track frame on ebay, or is it?

(Example: Framebuilding:Tubing:Falck)

Date: Fri, 17 Mar 2006 18:20:11 +0100
From: "Freek Faro" <khun.freek@gmail.com>
To: Classicrendezvous <Classicrendezvous@bikelist.org>
In-Reply-To: <df813d780603170647n7ccef55em@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: [CR]Fwd: Rih track frame on ebay, or is it?

I will add tto my post that the sellers name is Oliver Ramm (small print on the ebay page) and his name turns up in the cr archives a couple of times. Mixed experiences from buyers.

Freek Faro

---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: Freek Faro <khun.freek@gmail.com> Date: 17-mrt-2006 15:47 Subject: Rih track frame on ebay, or is it? To: Classicrendezvous <Classicrendezvous@bikelist.org>

Since we've had a Gazelle that's not a (Dutch) Gazelle (but French) some weeks or months ago, I thought I'd ask some attention to a Rih that is not a Dutch Rih, on ebay now:

http://ebay.com/<blah> 823228QQcategoryZ98084QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

item number: 7226823228

The style of the letters, the headbadge, the position of the frame number, everything is different from what I know to be Rih. The seller states it is a Dutch Rih; I mailed him and gave my opinion; he answered: 'Sorry,I dont now.I bought the bike by ebay.' If you don't know, why state: ' RIH is a dutch frame manufactur.It manufactures very beautifull high quality frames in hand made!'. Seems unfair to me. ** Anyway i called mr. van der Kaay (the proprietor of Rih) and he made it definite: this is not a Rih. Should have had 'G B' somewhere: Gebroeders Bustraan. Still this track frame looks 'genuine': could this be something from the former Soviet Union, or the east block? I'd like to hear more about it!

Freek (secret Dutch member of the keepers of the Rih society) Faro Rotterdam Netherlands