Re: [CR]Who won the TDF in 1971?

Example: Events:Cirque du Cyclisme:2002

Date: Sun, 21 May 2006 18:20:19 -0700 (PDT)
From: Jerome & Elizabeth Moos <>
Subject: Re: [CR]Who won the TDF in 1971?
To: Olof Stroh <>, dan kasha <>,
In-Reply-To: <00ae01c67bf7$60095240$0200a8c0@sipelgas>

The Spanish rival of Merckx who I am pretty sure did ride Zeus components and perhaps Zeus frames on the KAS team was Jose Manuel Fuente. He figures prominently in most or all of the classic cycling films featuring Merckx. While he never won the Tour, he did finish third to Ocana, was second to Merckx in the Giro, and Twice won the Vuelta.


Jerry Moos Big Spring, TX

Olof Stroh <> wrote: Your right, Luis Ocaña won in 1973 (on a Campagnoloequiped Motobécane) and chrashed in 1971. Merckx won in 1969,1970, 1971, 1072 and 1974.

Zeus never won.


Olof Stroh
Uppsala Sweden

----- Original Message -----
From: "dan kasha"
Sent: Saturday, May 20, 2006 11:01 AM
Subject: [CR]Who won the TDF in 1971?

>I was wondering if someone could help me set the record straight on the TDF
>winners and Zeus.
> The CR spain page:
> Says that Luis Ocana beat Eddy Merckx in 1971.
> My searches show that Ocana crashed in 1971, and won in 1973.
> Can someone confirm all, but also shed light on what bikes Ocana might
> have been riding in those years? Did a Zeus ever win the tour?
> Thanks in advance,
> Dan Kasha
> Seattle, wa
> ---------------------------------
> Feel free to call! Free PC-to-PC calls. Low rates on PC-to-Phone. Get
> Yahoo! Messenger with Voice