[CR]Wild story - true or...? Locomotief on eBay

(Example: Framebuilders:Alex Singer)

Date: Tue, 4 Mar 2008 21:43:34 -0700
From: "John Wood" <braxton72@gmail.com>
To: "Classic Rendezvous" <classicrendezvous@bikelist.org>
Subject: [CR]Wild story - true or...? Locomotief on eBay

This is my second post about this bike, which I won recently on eBay. Price was right and it's definitely and interesting looking bike, which comes complete with an interesting story, which I assume is mostly fairy tale. You can see the auction here: *http://tinyurl.com/2xjgjv

*The "interesting" claim, for those not wanting to bother with the link was:

"First I'll start by saying that I am NOT in any way an authority on vintage bikes. I am a pro mechanic who happened into this bicycle a short while ago. One of my fine clients, an avid vintage bicycle collector, passed away and willed it to me. It does not fit me, otherwise I would probably keep it. It has a fantastically smooth ride quality.

Here is what I know about it...

If you have never seen one before, it is most likely because this is the only one in the U.S. This is supposedly a frame produced for a proposed deal to start a trade cycling team built around and for Eddy Merckx. The deal fell through and no more than a hand full were ever made. This one ended up in the states because a man from northern California (an avid century cyclist) was in Belgium meeting his new finance's family. The frame was given to him by his future father in law (who was in some way connected with the Gazelle bicycle company) and he brought it back to California. My deceased client was the third owner."

So, anyone out there have any knowledge about this. Any truth to this, or just a load of hooey. Thanks for any information you can provide.

John Wood
Red Lodge, MT USA