Re: [CR]Yellow Masi on eBay - SCAM!

(Example: Framebuilding:Technology)

From: "accobra" <>
References: <>
In-Reply-To: <>
Subject: Re: [CR]Yellow Masi on eBay - SCAM!
Date: Fri, 17 Oct 2008 06:08:08 -0500

Bruce & all, the scamming yellow Masi has now been removed from eBay. The yellow Masi that you're bidding on, # 270286535455 in Switzerland, is NOT the auction or bike I was referring to (see the auction numbers in my original note, although the scam auction is no longer viewable).

I have no reason to suspect the legitimacy Swiss-based auction, but I can't vouch for the integrity of the bike in the auction. Based on the photos and the odd "MAZZI" decals, it looks like it needs to be rescued & restored assuming a real Masi is under all that. And it appears there is.

Mark Winkelman Dallas, Texas USA ----- Original Message ----- From: bruce thomson To: CLASSIC RENDEZVOUS ; accobra Sent: Thursday, October 16, 2008 10:53 PM Subject: Re: [CR]Yellow Masi on eBay - SCAM!

I am bidding on it now. Say it isnt so. Actually the one that looks like it is 270286535455, thats the one that is up now. The paint does look a bit flat and too light for an original Masi paint, but I anit an expert. Bruce

Bruce Thomson Spokane WA 99204 (509) 747 4314

--- On Thu, 10/16/08, accobra <> wrote:

From: accobra <> Subject: [CR]Yellow Masi on eBay - SCAM! To: "CLASSIC RENDEZVOUS" <> Date: Thursday, October 16, 2008, 6:03 AM

Scammers have cut & pasted pictures from an ended legit eBay auction and "listed" a mid-70's yellow Masi Gran Criterium on eBay. In the description they've added the following statement: "Buy it now price $1300 free shipping. For more info contact me at fsale08@....". eBay Item # 270288322031I see this sort of thing for automobiles but it's this first time I've noticed it for a bike (though I imagine it's happened before). I've reported this fake auction to eBay so they may shut it down before many of you have a chance to see it. You can do this by selecting the link at the bottom of the auction page entitled "report this item" The eBay ID on the listing is from California but it's very likely a
   stolen eBay ID. The recently ended legit auction was item # 380070281466Here's the link to the fake auction:<blah> ovo-Record_W0QQitemZ270288322031QQihZ017QQcategoryZ98084QQssPageNameZWDVW QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItemThis is the link to the legit ended auction:<blah> ovo-Record_W0QQitemZ380070281466QQihZ025QQcategoryZ98084QQssPageNameZWDVW QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItemMark WinkelmanDallas, Texas USA--- StripMime Report -- processed MIME parts ---multipart/alternative text/plain (text body -- kept) text/html---_______________________________________________Classicrendezv ous mailing listClassicrendezvous@bikelist.org o/classicrendezvous