[CR] Ferretti Team Bike on eBay, etc.

Example: Framebuilders:Jack Taylor

Date: Thu, 27 Jan 2011 10:15:19 -0800
From: Kerrigan Bennett <kerriganbennett@gmail.com>
To: classicrendezvous@bikelist.org
Subject: [CR] Ferretti Team Bike on eBay, etc.

I don't have any experience with Ken Denny, but I have to say that I noticed the eBay listing in question and I noticed that the bike looked very likely to be the same bike shown in Bob Hovey's Masi Italy Registry as an acknowledged "reproduction" owned by a Noel Smith: http://bhovey.com/Masi/MasiItaly.htm (scroll down to 1972 for the listing)

The bb stamp, "M59.5" seems to be the same on both bikes. When I noticed that, I emailed Bob to ask him any other details he might have regarding the Noel Smith listing. I haven't heard anything back from him yet.

Obviously, any 1972 Masi in this condition is a pretty interesting bike; but if the provenance is misrepresented, then I think one would be correct to take offense. I would assume that it is, at least, a genuine, circa 1972, Masi; but I do find it interesting that the registry entry characterizes it as a "reproduction." To me, that makes it sound as if it was built later (chronologically), but built in the style of and finished as an actual Ferretti team bike. I would think a genuine Ferretti team bike would be worth a lot more than an otherwise undistinguished '72 Masi.

Now, there are some possible scenarios in which the eBay listing would not be a misrepresentation:

(1) It is not the same bike; and Ken happens to be selling the real article that bears a strong resemblance to the Noel Smith reproduction. (2) It is the same bike; but Noel Smith was wrong in believing and representing to Mr. Hovey that it was a reproduction, an error that Ken has recognized. (3) It is the same bike; but whoever sold it to Ken convinced him that it was genuine and he is simply listing it as he believes it to be, an actual team bike. (4) The registry entry is simply erroneous (e.g. Noel Smith might never have owned a bike fitting that description).

I would be interested in finding out the real facts as to the provenance of the bike. Does any one on the list know Noel Smith? Or does anyone know anything more about the bike Ken is selling?

One thing that I find particularly interesting about this bike is that below the bottom bracket stamp reading "M59.5," there are two other smaller characters stamped that look like "G P" to me. "G P" could be for Gosta Pettersson. If this was actually his bike, this would be worth even more, I would think.

Kerrigan Bennett Pleasant Hill, CA USA

Archive-URL: http://search.bikelist.org/getmsg.asp?Filename=classicrendezvous.11101.1600.eml Date: Thu, 27 Jan 2011 11:20:50 -0500 From: loudeeter(AT)aol.com Subject: Re: [CR] Fraud Alert-Fake "Ferretti Team Bike On eBay"<http://search.bikelist.org/query.asp?SearchString=%22Fraud+Alert%2DFake+%22Ferretti+Team+Bike+On+eBay%22%22&SearchPrefix=%40msgsubject&SortBy=MsgDate%5Ba%5D>

What part of it is fake? The frame looks to be a Masi from that era. That could explain the brakes, right? I understand your point about it possibly not being a team bike, but it is still a nice bike. I also understand your animosity toward all things from this seller. I don't know whether that is a "Boston" thing, or just that you are ticked off at him for some reason. Lou Deeter, Orlando FL