[CR] Fraud Alert-Fake "Ferretti Team Bike On eBay"

(Example: Framebuilders:Brian Baylis)

In-Reply-To: <AANLkTimNpyfoWWqkbLjHvSmgx-Sb3=48UcfR7BpcZ60F@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 27 Jan 2011 13:26:52 -0500
From: "Angel Garcia" <veronaman@gmail.com>
To: classicrendezvous@bikelist.org
Subject: [CR] Fraud Alert-Fake "Ferretti Team Bike On eBay"

Beautiful bike. I wish sellers,in general, that undertake such meticulous care in restorations would take the same amount of care in taking the "before" photos and posting those in the listings. That would seem, at least to me, to be of great benefit to the seller, and for the buyer down the road when the bike gets passed down since we are all temporary caretakers.

Angel Garcia Long Valley, NJ

---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: George Hollenberg <ghollmd@gmail.com> Date: Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 5:42 AM Subject: [CR] Fraud Alert-Fake "Ferretti Team Bike On eBay" To: Classic Rendezvous <classicrendezvous@bikelist.org>

A bike claimed to be a "Professional cycle of the Ferretti team of 1972 that included the Petterssen brothers and Gianni Motta", eBay #120676480890 is not as represented-it's a fake. The seller approached Alberto Masi (personal communication) and asked him to certify the bike as that of Ghosta Pettersen-but Ghosta Pettersen's bike was a 62.5 and Alberto noted that a Ferretti Masi didn't sport De Rosa decals as seen on this eBay bike. Furthermore, the seller presents no proof and no provenance that this bike was ever owned by anyone on the Ferretti Masi team and he never will produce such evidence because it doesn't exist. Many Ferretti repros exist and one is listed in the same size as the eBay seller's bike listed as a reproduction in Bob Hovey's Masi Archive. What we have is just a Masi painted and tarted up as a Masi Ferretti-*let the seller prove otherwise.* George

George Hollenberg MD